Sri Lanka Parliament prorogued

Sri Lanka Parliament will be prorogued with effect from midnight on Friday (Jan.26) until February 07 (Wednesday). This marks the closure of the fourth session of the Ninth Parliament. 

The prorogation was communicated in a proclamation published in the government gazette by President’s Secretary Saman Ekanayake.

The  Extraordinary Gazette was issued by the powers vested in the President by Article 70 of the Constitution.

Accordingly, the next parliamentary session is scheduled to commence at 10:30 a.m. on February 07.

When a new session kicks off, the President has the opportunity to ceremonially declare open the Parliament and preside over the Government’s Policy Statement. In the past, it was known as the Throne Speech and was presented by the Governor. According to current practice, it is neither debated nor put to the vote.

When the Parliament is prorogued, the questions and motions that have not been considered by the Parliament until then will be abolished, and the Members of Parliament thus have to take it up again by the Standing Orders.

In addition, all other committees except the Liaison Committee of Parliament, Committee on High Posts, Select Committees and Sectoral Oversight Committees, should be re-constituted following the beginning of the new session.

The first session of the Ninth Parliament was held from August 20, 2020, to December 12, 2021, and the second session from January 18, 2022 to July 28, 2022. The third session of the Ninth Parliament was held from August 03, 2022, to January 27, 2023.

Exit mobile version