10 dual-citizen MPs! their Fate after 22! justice minister explains!

According to Justice Minister Wijayadasa Rajapaksa, following the passage of the 22nd constitutional amendment, MPs with dual citizenship will lose their possibility to keep their MP posts due to the decision of someone coming to the Supreme Court against them and contesting their MP positions.

According to the minister, there are approximately ten MPs having dual citizenship in the present legislature.

Except for a few persons, Mr. Vijayadasa Rajapaksa said he had no idea who those MPs are.

The Minister stated that he is pleased with the ratification of this amendment with minor adjustments, and that it would be a crucial step forward for the country’s democracy.

Exit mobile version